NZ INTERPROVINCIAL TOURNAMENT HISTORY - CANTERBURY

Having been first suggested by & organised by Canterbury Golf, the inaugural NZ Interprovincial tournament was played at the Shirley Golf Club (known as Christchurch) on 28 February 1951. The participating teams were Auckland, Canterbury, Manawatu-Wanganui, Nelson-West Coast, Otago, and Wellington. Originally it was known as the Freyberg Rosebowl before changing to the Tower Interprovincial in 1979. From there it was changed to Toro in the early 2000's alongside several other naming sponsors, while today it is now known simply as the NZ Interprovincial tournament.

Canterbury has won the event 10 times in 1957, 1962, 1965, 1976, 1983, 1988, 1989, 1998, 2000 & 2020. Below is a record of all the tournaments, their venue, the winning province and Canterbury's finish.

Date	Winning Team	Canterbury's Finish	Venue
1951	Wellington	2nd	Christchurch
1952	Manawatu-Wang <mark>anu</mark> i	5th=	Paraparaumu beach
1953	Manawatu- <mark>Wanga</mark> nui	9th=	Christchurch
1954	Manawa <mark>tu-Wa</mark> nganui	6th	Manawatu
1955	Mana <mark>watu-</mark> Wanganui	5th	Russley
1956	Wellington	4th=	New Plymouth
1957	Canterbury	1st	Poverty Bay
1958	Auckland	8th=	Nelson
1959	Auckland	4th	Rotorua
1960	Auckland & Wellington	4th	Auckland
1961	Hawke's Bay	4th=	Napier
1962	Canterbury	1st	Otago
1963	Hawke's Bay	9th	Hutt
1964	Manawatu-Wanga <mark>nu</mark> i	4th=	Manawatu
1965	Canterbury	1st	Waitikiri
1966	Wellington	9th	The Grange
1967	Auckland	6th=	St Clair
1968	Waikato	9th	New Plymouth
1969	Hawke's Bay	8=	Hutt
1970	Auckland	6th	Invercargill
1971	Waikato	2nd	Lochiel
1972	Waikato	6th	Napier
1973	Otago	2nd	Russley
1974	Waikato	7th=	Whangarei
1975	Auckland	8th	Wanganui
1976	Canterbury	1st	Timaru
1977	Wellington	5th	Titirangi
1978	Otago	7th	Taupo
1979	Auckland	5th	Nelson
1980	Auckland	2nd	Hutt
1981	Auckland	7th	Poverty Bay
1982	Otago	2nd	Otago
1983	Canterbury	1st	Hamilton

1984	Auckland	3rd	New Plymouth
1985	Waikato	2nd	Invercargill
1986	Waikato	3rd	Manawatu
1987	Waikato	11th	Whangarei
1988	Canterbury	1st	Christchurch
1989	Canterbury	1st	Hastings
1990	Wellington	4th	Remuera
1991	Wellington	3rd	Timaru
1992	Wellington	2nd	Mt Maunganui
1993	Auckland	4th	Nelson
1994	Wellington	10th	Wanganui
1995	Auckland	6th	Manor Park
1996	Tasman	2nd	Poverty Bay
1997	Wellington	4th	Otago
1998	Canterbury	1st	North Shore
1999	Wellington	5th	Hamilton
2000	Canterbury	1st	Invercargill
2001	W <mark>elling</mark> ton	5th	New Plymouth
2002	Bay of Plenty	4th	Sherwood Park
2003	Bay of Plenty	4th	Coringa
2004	Bay of Plenty	8th	Napier
2005	North Harbour	7th	Titirangi
2006	Waikato	5th	Timaru
2007	Bay of Plenty	10th	Mt Maunganui
2008	Bay of Plenty	13th	Greenacres
2009	Bay Of Plenty	2nd	Manawatu
2010	Wellington	5th	Paraparaumu beach
2011	Southland	4th	Poverty Bay
2012	Bay of Plenty	8th	Otago
2013	Manawatu/Wang <mark>an</mark> ui	6th	North Shore
2014	Waikato	8th	Hamilton
2015	Waikato	10th	Invercargill
2016	Wellington	6th	New Plymouth
2017	North Harbour	5th	Mangawhai
2018	Northland	3rd	Clearwater
2019	Auckland	Pool pl <mark>ay</mark>	Hastings
2020	Canterbury	1st	Whitford Park
2021	Taranaki	Pool play	Ashburton
2022	Bay of Plenty	Pool play	Omanu & Tauranga
2023	Auckland	Semi Finalist	Paraparaumu Beach & Waikanae

Canterbury Players Named Player of the Tournament

Jim H Lapsley - 1983 Brent Paterson - 1985 Marcus P Mariu - 1991 Karl Kitchingham - 1998 Kazuma Kobori - 2020