NZ INTERPROVINCIAL TOURNAMENT HISTORY - CANTERBURY

Originally known as the Grace Cup this event was first played for in 1949 in Invercargill. Originally it was a match between the best district in the North Island versus the best district in the Sout Island, as determined by annual Grace Cup North and South Island tournaments respectively earlier that year. It was later changed to the more classic NZ Interprovincial format as it is today.

Canterbury has won the event 7 times in 1951, 1952, 1953, 1971, 1974, 1988, and 2015. Below is a record of all the tournaments, their venue, the winning province and Canterbury's finish if known.

Date	Winning Team	Canterbury's Finish	Venue
1949	Auckland		Invercargill
1950	Wellington		Hastings
1951	Canterbury	1st	Auckland
1952	Canterbury	1st	Otago
1953	Canterbury	1st	Wanganui
1954	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Miramar
1955	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Paraparaumu Beach
1956	Auckland		Manawatu
1957	Ma <mark>nawatu</mark> /Wanganui		Castlecliff
1958	Wellington		Templeton
1959	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Whangarei
1960	Manawatu/Wanganui		Paraparaumu Beach
1961	Hawkes Bay		Paraparaumu Beach
1962	South Canterbury		Manor Park
1963	Auckland		New Plymouth
1964	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Christchurch
1965	Hawkes Bay/Poverty Bay		Hamilton
1966	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Nelson
1967	Auckland		Paraparaumu Beach
1968	Wellington		Manawatu
1969	Auckland		Ashburton
1970	Hawkes Bay/Poverty Bay		Poverty Bay
1971	Canterbury	1st	The Grange
1972	Auckland		Otago
1973	Waikato/King Country		Tauranga
1974	Canterbury	1st	Whangarei
1975	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Invercargill
1976	Auckland		Westown
1977	Auckland		Manawatu
1978	Auckland		Waitikiri
1979	Auckland		Lochiel
1980	Auckland		Hastings
1981	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Nelson
1982	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Manukau
1983	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Wellington

1984	Auckland		Timaru
1985	Auckland		Whangarei
1986	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Taupo
1987	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Otago
1988	Canterbury	1st	New Plymouth
1989	Wellington		Invercargill
1990	Auckland		Palmerston North
1991	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Hamilton
1992	Wellington		Christchurch
1993	Auckland		Flaxmere
1994	Auckland		Nelson
1995	North Harbour		Titirangi
1996	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Wellington
1997	Bay of Plenty/Thames Valley		Methven
1998	Auckland		Kerikeri
1999	Auckland		Mt Maunganui
2000	Waikato/King Country		St Clair
2001	Waikato/King Country		North Shore
2002	North Harbour		Westown
2003	North Harbour		Invercargill
2004	Bay of <mark>Plenty</mark> /Thames Valley		Manawatu
2005	North Harbour		Ngaruawahia
2006	Bay of Plenty		Russley
2007	Bay of Plenty		Napier
2008	Waikato		Nelson
2009	Auckland		The Grange
2010	North Harbour		Miramar
2011	Auckland		Whakatane
2012	Auckland	5th	St Clair
2013	Auckland	6th	Muriwai
2014	Auckland	5th	Riverside/Lochiel
2015	Canterbury	1st	Ashbu <mark>rto</mark> n
2016	Auckland		Westown
2017	<u>Auckland</u>		Sherwood Park
2018	Auckland	2nd	Waitikiri
2019	Auckland	Pool Play	Maraenui
2020	Auckland	2nd	Akarana
2021	Wellington	2nd	Timaru
2022	Auckland	9th	Omanu & Tauranga
2023	Manawatu/Wanganui	5th	Paraparaumu Beach & Waikanae
2024	North Harbour	3rd	Russley & Harewood